Goal Achieved: Inktober 2019

So yeah Inktober! I made it!

Inktober, just to add a more informative stint to this post, is a self challenge where you draw something on paper using ink everyday for the month of October. Then you need to push it online using any social media for all to see.

Of course this is terrifying for people who usually hide their art but I guess that’s one of the goals. If you don’t put anything out in the light then you will never see their flaws.

I am not a good artist at all and yeah I do have tons of sketches hidden in my numerous and half filled sketchbooks. But when I started doing and posting these horrible sketches I started to see where I needed improvement. Not that anyone criticized my art or anything, its just that after I post my work, when I see it pop up in a public social space, I suddenly see all the terrifying mistakes and flaws in all its detail. As if the act of posting it online shaved off my self-perception that it was ‘pretty good after all’.

Now… I wonder if I do the same with my random games online… will it have the same effect?

Leave a comment